On the 13th of November the eSports Industry Awards happened. People came from far and wide to celebrate the competitive Video Games Scene; Whether that be, CS:GO, League of Legends or even the vlogging and live streaming community. On this prestigious

and glamorous night, it was interesting to see people you wouldn't normally see in suits and bow-ties, in actual suits and bow-ties. It made for a nice change of scenery for gamers, streamers and industry a-like.

As the name suggests, awards were given out to streaming personalities, professional esports players, and the industry for blessing us with the games that they have made. I was lucky enough to be part of the media team, interviewing winners backstage after they had won their awards.

This unfortunately means I didn't get to watch the awards itself but i'm sure it was a beautiful night, judging from the hype and atmosphere of the place as well as the faces of the winners that came through, although maybe this was a different story for the losers #SorryAboutIt.


Stars there included, Big Narstie, Dr DisRespect, Damon ‘Karma’ Barlow and more.

Having awards like these are very important especially as the significance of esports increases year by year and with this being the 2nd eSports Industry Awards i can see many more to come, It was an honour to be a part of something so progressive and new for video games in general. Check out the winners and their profiles below!


Personality of the Year – Eefje ‘Sjokz’ Depoortere
PC Player of the Year – Amer ‘Miracle-‘ Barqawi (Dota 2)
Console Player of the Year – Matthew ‘FormaL’ Piper
Team of the Year – OpTic Gaming Call of Duty
Game of the Year – Counter-Strike: Global Offensive
Play of the Year – OpTic FormaL on Call of Duty: Infinite Warfare
Breakthrough Game of the Year – PLAYERUNKNOWN’S BATTLEGROUNDS
Streamer of the Year – Dr DisRespect
Commercial Partner of the Year – G Fuel
Unsung Hero of the Year – Megan Cutrofello
Publisher of the Year – Riot Games
Streaming Platform of the Year – Twitch
Live Event of the Year – League of Legends World Championships
Broadcaster of the Year – Alex ‘Machine’ Richardson
Hardware Provider of the Year – Intel
Coverage Website of the Year – ESPN Esports
Journalist of the Year – Duncan ‘Thorin’ Shields
UK Player of the Year – Spencer ‘Gorilla’ Ealing (FIFA)
PC Rookie of the Year– Abay ‘Hobbit’ Khassenov (CS:GO)
Videographer of the Year – Davis ‘OpTic Hitch’ Edwards
Photographer of the Year – Joe Brady
Console Rookie of the Year – Victor ‘Punk’ Woodley (Street Fighter)

The whole event was live streamed online and can be re-watched below;

Watch Esports Industry Awards 2017 from EsportsIndustryAwards on www.twitch.tv
After the interviews and awards came to an end, then started the after party. Free vodka, free domino's pizza, mario kart, (don’t drink and drive kids) what more could you ask for? As a gamer, I'm proud we have now reached a place where we celebrate games in such a mainstream manner and hope this trend continues for our love and passion. Show your support for streamers, esports professionals, vloggers and the industry as much as you can and who knows maybe one day this will be up there with the winners.

You can check out the remainder of our photos over on our FlickR page: https://www.flickr.com/officialfragradio

By Mahin Kesore